Q&A with personal trainer Tamara Meyer

She is one super busy young woman – Apart from being an avid performer and dancer, Tamara Meyer has just completed a challenge to happiness and is launching her own personal training business.

We have a chat about her schedule and exercise tips – because we simply must know how she keeps her killer bod in shape.

Tamara Meyer CrossfitScreen Shot 2014-06-06 at 4.15.13 pm

 

 

You’re definitely a busy bee. Where are you working at the moment?
I am currently working at a Crossfit gym called Box HQ, as well as teaching at a local dance school. I also work as a performer for Nickelodeon and do various gigs as an actor/dancer.

What are you currently doing in your life?
I am building up my PT business as well as growing as a performer in the industry. I am going to be competing in the WBFF competition in QLD in October to build my reputation as a fitness model, which will hopefully get me sponsorship.

How often do you exercise?
I exercise 5-6 times a week. Varying with cardio training, resistance training, boxing and yoga.

What’s your favourite way of working out?
I have two. Boxing and yoga. Boxing helps me with my cardio and releases any emotional anger I have. I love having a good boxing session purely so I can punch out any negative thoughts and bring myself back to happy Tam. Yoga because I used to have troubles sleeping and had bad anxiety, and I love the feeling after doing a hot sweaty yoga class – you feel so relaxed and at peace.

Indoors or outdoors?
I love outdoor training when it is a nice sunny day, otherwise indoors for everything else. I love training with my trainer as he pushes me but there is nothing more satisfying when you just want to run a good 7km to have time to yourself to think and ease the mind.

What are some of the songs on your workout playlist?
At the moment I have been playing a lot of Kanye West, RNB tracks. Anything with a fast pace beat and something I picture myself doing a killer routine to on stage. It motivates me…

Any sneaky foods you can’t live without?
I can’t live without peanut butter, peanut butter chocolate ice cream and M&Ms. One way to a girls heart.

Yoga Tamara MeyerTamara Meyer at Box HQ

 

What’s the 100 Days of Happiness Challenge all about?
It was purely a personal goal I wanted to achieve as I had hit a moment in my life where I was lost and confused and had no direction in life. I had expected to get a position in a role that would’ve made me travel around Australia and when I didn’t get it, I literally had no idea what I was going to do with myself. 100 days of Happiness made me realise all the beautiful things in the world, and how much the little things count.

Any top tips for people looking at getting into shape? Where can they find you?
Train with me and I’ll help you get into shape. For me it is all about educating your clients on the right and healthy way to live. Diet and exercise is the key, and they go hand in hand. If one suffers the other one will too. Don’t harm your body with quick fixes and shortcuts – it’s about working hard and having a healthy balanced lifestyle.

 

You can find Tamara at BOX HQ and she’ll be more than happy to give free assessments and guidance with training. Shoot her an email, follow her Instagram, or add TM Fitness on Facebook

 

 

What are your thoughts?